BOARD MINUTES Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation June 15, 2017

The regular session of the Board of School Trustees was held as advertised on June 15, 2017 at 6:40 P.M. in the administration building. Members present were Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, Corey Potts, and Superintendent Branden Roeder. Also present were Tim Hillman and Chandra Mattingley.

Minutes for the May 11, 2017 board meeting were reviewed. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the minutes as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Claims were reviewed, and Mr. Roeder presented the Board with an update on the major accounts. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the claims as presented, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Susan Chase as a general education aide, Jennifer Holbrook as a Title I aide, and Hannah LeMasters as ROD preschool aide. He requested permission to post Susan Chase's cafeteria position. Upon motion by Renee Cole and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the recommendations and to post the cafeteria position, members voted as follows: Aye – Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented a resignation from Jacob Rowe, band director. Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to accept the resignation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Tyler Umpleby as band director and summer band director. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended the following winter athletic coaches:

Abby Friend-Varsity Girls' Basketball Jason Barth-Assistant Girls' Basketball Chris Jones-Varsity Boys' Basketball

Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Renee Cole to approve the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented a resignation from Janie Craig as flag corps advisor. He recommended hiring Jana McKinley to fill the position. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to accept the resignation and hire Ms. McKinley, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended Dede Miller and Jarran Shockley as volunteers to work with the high school cheerleaders over the summer. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Renee Cole to accept the recommendation, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder recommended adding one year to the Administrator Contracts of Noel Bostic and Patty Huff. Upon motion by Connie Smith to approve the recommendation and also add one year to Branden Roeder's Superintendent Contract and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the NEOLA updates for a second reading. No changes have been made since the first reading. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Andrea Kirkpatrick to approve the NEOLA updates, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented the Board with three scenarios for textbook fees. The Board discussed the different scenarios and the financial impact on the parents and the school corporation. Corey Potts stated the helping with the textbook fees would be a good way to thank the community for supporting the General Fund Referendum. Upon motion by Connie Smith to cap the textbook fees for 2017-2018 at \$95.00 per student for kindergarten through 7th grade and seconded by Gary Kinnett, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Andrea Kirkpatrick, Renee Cole, and Corey Potts. Mr. Potts stated that he would have liked for the cap to have been lower.

Mr. Roeder presented the Student Handbook for its first reading. He discussed some of the changes to the handbook including the Epipen policy, credit recovery program, attendance policy, and student dress code. No action was taken as this was the first reading.

Mr. Roeder recommended the following breakfast/lunch prices: Breakfast:-\$1.25 Kindergarten – Grade 2 Lunch: \$2.55 Grades 3-12 Lunch: \$\$2.75

These prices are the same as last year. Upon motion by Andrea Kirkpatrick and seconded by Connie Smith, members voted as follows: Aye – Andrea Kirkpatrick, Connie Smith, Renee Cole, Gary Kinnett, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder presented a request from Tresa Patz, FCCLA sponsor, to take Anna Uhlmansiek to Nashville, TN for the National Leadership Conference July 2-7. Anna was recently elected president of Indiana's FCCLA chapter. This is the first time our school has had a student in a national leadership position. Mr. Roeder recommended that the school corporation pay for the hotel, registration, and travel expenses. Upon motion by Connie Smith and seconded by Gary Kinnett, to approve the trip and pay for the expenses, members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.

Mr. Roeder informed the board that during the 2016-2017 school year, the school collected \$20,373 for device insurance and damage. He stated that device insurance would be available for a cost of \$25 again this year.

The next regular session of the Board of School Trustees will be Thursday, July 13th, at 6:30 P.M.

The Board of School Trustees of the Rising Sun-Ohio County Community School Corporation did not discuss any subject matter in executive session other than the topic specified in the public notice

Upon motion by Gary Kinnett and seconded by Connie Smith to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 P.M., members voted as follows: Aye – Connie Smith, Gary Kinnett, Renee Cole, Andrea Kirkpatrick, and Corey Potts.
